A Small Tribute to the SPCA Biscuit Fund and Cindy Schafer

by Julie Broad

I shed a few tears as I made my $500 donation to the Vancouver SPCA’s biscuit fund and looked back at the supporters who really rallied behind me for the Battle of the REI Blogs.

Normally the tears would have been for the abused animals pictured on the website of the SPCA but I have learned not to read their heart wrenching stories. Those stories always end in tears for me. I will never understand how people can be cruel to animals … especially dogs who are generally so loyal and loving.

But, that isn’t why I shed a few tears today.

Through this contest I was introduced to Cindy Schafer.

Cindy emerged as a supporter during the Battle of the REI Blogs. A fellow dog lover, blogger & daughter of bed and breakfast parents we had many things in common. We exchanged blog comments, a couple of emails and I was hooked on her cheery words and warm heart.

Of course, she found out about the contest through my Mom who networks with her Mom on a bed and breakfast forum.

She even wrote a plea to her blog readers to support Julie Broad in the Battle of the REI Blogs.

I know she would have been so happy today to learn that my $500 donation to the Vancouver SPCA is complete and her vote and her support played a part in my victory which led to that donation. But Cindy was killed in a plane crash last week.

I can’t even imagine the pain that everyone who loves her is feeling. I never even met her in person and I feel such sadness.

But I will forever be grateful for her support and for the brief encounters we did share thanks to the Battle of the REI blogs.  That is why I shed a few tears. And this year my $500 is in tribute to her and for the wonderful legacy she leaves behind with me and with everyone who knew her.

And to everyone else who supported us during the Battle of the REI Blogs, your vote and your comments meant so much to us. The $500 donation to the biscuit fund will go towards helping at least one badly injured animal receive the medical treatment they need to recover and live a happy and healthy life. And next year I am pretty sure we’ll double the donation if we can make it a victory two years in a row!

3 Comments

Filed under real estate

3 responses to “A Small Tribute to the SPCA Biscuit Fund and Cindy Schafer

  1. I’m really sorry to hear that, Julie. How very sad.

    Kudos to you for making the donation to the SPCA- it’s always nice to hear of other animal lovers out there making a difference.

    Steph

  2. Thanks Steph! I’m sure I made Jim happy too right?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

