Why You Should Just Keep Pushing Forward

Mud N Bud 2008 - Dave and I heading to the finish line

Mud N Bud 2008 - Dave and I heading to the finish line

As I was leaning forward on my bike, pushing my way up a trail filled with loose rocks on the side of Seymour Mountain (in North Vancouver), all I could think about was how good this would feel when I was done. Little did I know that the long and painful climb we were doing was just the start of my adventure. My husband Dave was about to introduce me to a trail called Team Pangor which is mostly a black diamond biking trail … Black diamond to me simply means that there are plenty of places to break every bone in your body. Team Pangor did not disappoint in that regard.

Anyway, as I was gingerly trying to find safe passage down this nasty trail, I was thinking that real estate investing is often like training for a big race.

There are plenty of days where it’s hard work and you’ll wonder why you are doing it. There are definitely days where you are on a path that is new terrain and you aren’t yet skilled enough to navigate down easily so you have ask for help from those around you with experience (in my case, I had to ask Dave to carry my bike so I could safely wiggle down the giant rock faces and crawl across the tiny bridges that were 6 feet in the air – GULP!).

There will also be some bruises and scratches – because nothing ever goes perfectly.

But, when it’s all done – it feels amazing. The rewards are so plentiful that you forget the fear, the sweat, and the pain of getting to the finish line.

If you’re struggling right now … just know that it’s worth it to push through! Reach out for help if you need it or try a different approach if what you’ve been doing isn’t working. Whatever you do – just keep moving forward because you will be so glad you did!

When we cross the finish line at this year’s MOMAR race (http://www.mindovermountain.com/momar/) I promise you I’ll be smiling and feeling great! The sensation I get when I accomplish something that was a challenge is nothing short of brilliant … and it’s not unlike the sense of pride and accomplishment I feel when I think of the properties we own, the rent we collect, and the wealth we’ve built up … simply by pushing through the tough stuff to get to the finish line.

So … if you’re not pushing yourself to reach your goals … start today. And if you are pushing, but you’re feeling the pain … keep going!! It’s going to be worth it!

Get our Free Real Estate Investing Starter Tips Guide when you sign up for our Free weekly real estate investing newsletter

Get our Free Real Estate Investing Starter Tips Guide when you sign up for our Free weekly real estate investing newsletter

1 Comment

Filed under goal setting, Just For Fun, MOMAR, real estate

One response to “Why You Should Just Keep Pushing Forward

  1. Pingback: Real Estate Investing Lessons from Mountain Biking « Life as Real Estate Investors

Leave a Reply

