You Get What You Focus On – In Real Estate and Mountain Biking

Julie's first Single Track Mountain Bike Ride Ever on Seymour Mountain

Julie's first Single Track Mountain Bike Ride Ever on Seymour Mountain

Ok – I know that rock doesn’t look very scary in this picture, but I can assure you it is a big rock! This picture was taken on my very FIRST single track mountain bike ride in the north shore mountains in Vancouver. I’d probably only been mountain biking two or three other times in my entire life, and there I was heading face first down a rock face.

I made it safely over this rock face. My friends wouldn’t let me focus on my fear and lack of skill. Instead they talked me through what I had to do, and put my focus on the path ahead of the rock.

I quickly signed up for a mountain biking clinic and bought a better bike after this ride, but that’s because I knew I needed better skills and tools to make future rides successful.  Overall, this ride on Seymour Mountain was a great experience – I had a blast and was ready to become a better single track rider. I also began to learn an important lesson that applies in real estate and in mountain biking …  you will get what you focus on.

If you are focused on the challenges you face in real estate investing – that is what you’ll face. If you focus on the root ahead on the trail – that is what you’ll hit.

I wrote about this in more detail and told another mountain biking story over at Must Know Investing. To learn the trick to overcoming real estate investing obstacles, head on over to the post I wrote for Patrick Riddle’s blog. (Thanks Patrick for sharing my article with your readers!! As always I am proud to be a part of your great blog).

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Articles, investing, real estate

One response to “You Get What You Focus On – In Real Estate and Mountain Biking

  1. Pingback: Is Your Big But Keeping You From Investing in Real Estate? «

Leave a Reply

