Focus your way to being rich

Last night, as our dog Bram was drooling over Dave eating crackers and cheese, my Mom said “If we all could focus on making money like dogs focus on food we’d all be millionaires by the time we’re five”.

Ok, five years old might be a stretch but my Mom is definitely onto something. When you make something your focus, even just for an hour, how much do you accomplish? In this day and age, I don’t think many people focus on any one thing for long. With Blackberries always in hand – most people probably aren’t giving any one thing 100% attention. So, think of the power of actually giving your biggest goal one hour of 100% attention every day.

Bram, our dog, working hard to get every bit of peanut butter out of the jar

Bram, our dog, working hard to get every bit of peanut butter out of the jar

Here are some of my favourite blog posts along the lines of this subject… in case you aren’t ready to take an hour to focus on your goal just yet read these for inspiration:

Tim Ferriss - one of my favourite blogs

Tim Ferriss’s 4 Hour Work Week Blog: 9 Habits to Stop Now

Rock Your Day – Lots of posts on getting up really early to rock your day. Always great content in this blog.

Rock Your Day: Catch Yourself Making Excuses and then do Something About it

Early to Rise – Daily newsletter which I’ve been reading for over four years now. Early to Rise is FULL of great ideas for making money, being healthy and maximizing your potential in whatever you want to do.

Early to Rise: 3 Steps to Success

As for me, 3 things I do now to ensure better focus:

  1. I don’t check email in the morning until I have accomplished one of my most important tasks of the day.
  2. When I’ve scheduled myself to work on something, and I want to give it 100% of my attention I set a timer. Usually I set it for 45 minutes but if it’s a large task, I set it for 75 minutes. I do not allow myself to do anything except go to the washroom or get water during that time. The rest of my attention is 100% on that task. It’s mentally tiring but incredibly effective.
  3. At the end of every day I plan the important things I will do the next day.

Anyway – time to focus my way to being rich! Or, is it time for Bram’s walk? I think Bram is telling me it’s walk time… well I will focus after… :) Really…

2 Comments

Filed under goal setting, Productivity

2 responses to “Focus your way to being rich

  1. lfuji

    Great tips, Julie! (Checking my email way too often, is something I need to cut down on.)

    Interesting blog, both of you. Hopefully I can make more time soon, and read more of it.

  2. @lfuji: Thanks for stopping in. Try deciding two times in a day when you’ll check email and set a timer for 15 or 20 minutes so you know you have to stop. It works for me!

Leave a Reply

